top of page


Michael Kirkpatrick is currently the Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of DESE Research, Inc., a missile research, engineering, and development company in Huntsville, Alabama. He has over 25 years of management experience at DESE Research, Inc., and 15 years previous to DESE with other high technology companies including Intergraph and United Technologies.


Bachelor of Science

Auburn University, 1981

Master of Science - Management (Technology)

University of Alabama in Huntsville, 2000

Honorary Societies

Phi Kappa Phi

Beta Gamma Sigma Business Honorary Society

Community & Professional Involvement

  • American Heart Association, Heart Ball Chairman 2020

  • Leadership Alabama Board of Directors 2020 to Present

  • City of Guntersville Chairman Airport Advisory Board, 2011 to present

  • Downtown Huntsville Rotary Foundation Board

  • Boy Scouts of America:

    • Friends of Scouting Fundraising Chairman, 2013 to 2018

    • District Nominating Committee Chairman, 2012  

    • Greater Alabama Council Executive Board, 2000 to 2018

    • District Finance Chairman, 1997‑2000

  • Auburn University Research Advisory Council, 2009 to 2019

  • Auburn College of Business Advisory Council, 2009 to 2019

  • Auburn Management Information Systems Advisory Council, President, 2009 to 2011

  • University of Alabama/Huntsville College of Business Advisory Council, 2005 to present

  • Association of the United States Army, Board of Directors, 2006-2009

  • Downtown Huntsville Rotary Club, Board of Directors, 2009

  • Rotary Strive youth mentoring program at Butler High School, 2013

  • Land Trust of Huntsville and North Alabama, Board of Directors, 2001

  • Huntsville Aerospace Marketing Association, President, 2001

  • Huntsville/Madison County Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Class of 2000

  • President, Graduate Business Student Council, 2000

  • Chamber of Commerce Member, Huntsville and Guntersville, 2013

  • President of the Exchange Club of Huntsville, 1990

  • Madison County Republican Executive Committee, 1985 to 1990

DESE Senior Leadership

bottom of page